2010 Academy Awards®
Winners and History
Note: Oscar® and Academy Awards® and Oscar® design mark are the trademarks and service marks and the Oscar© statuette the copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. This site is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Academy Awards History (By Decade):
Introduction, 1927/8-39, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, 2010s
Academy Awards Summaries
Winners Charts:
"Best Picture" Oscar®, "Best Director" Oscar®, "Best Actor" Oscar®, "Best Supporting Actor" Oscar®,
"Best Actress" Oscar®, "Best Supporting Actress" Oscar®, "Best Screenplay/Writer" Oscar®

The winner is listed first, in CAPITAL letters.
Best Picture


Black Swan (2010)

The Fighter (2010)

Inception (2010)

The Kids Are All Right (2010)

127 Hours (2010)

The Social Network (2010)

Toy Story 3 (2010)

True Grit (2010)

Winter's Bone (2010)

Best Animated Feature Film

TOY STORY 3 (2010)

How to Train Your Dragon (2010)

The Illusionist (2010, UK/Fr.) (aka L'Illusionniste)

COLIN FIRTH in "The King's Speech," Javier Bardem in "Biutiful," Jeff Bridges in "True Grit," Jesse Eisenberg in "The Social Network," James Franco in "127 Hours"
NATALIE PORTMAN in "Black Swan," Annette Bening in "The Kids Are All Right," Nicole Kidman in "Rabbit Hole," Jennifer Lawrence in "Winter’s Bone," Michelle Williams in "Blue Valentine"
Supporting Actor:
CHRISTIAN BALE in "The Fighter," John Hawkes in "Winter's Bone," Jeremy Renner in "The Town," Mark Ruffalo in "The Kids Are All Right," Geoffrey Rush in "The King’s Speech"
Supporting Actress:
MELISSA LEO in "The Fighter," Amy Adams in "The Fighter," Helena Bonham Carter in "The King's Speech," Hailee Steinfeld in "True Grit," Jacki Weaver in "Animal Kingdom"
TOM HOOPER for "The King's Speech," Darren Aronofsky for "Black Swan," David O. Russell for "The Fighter," David Fincher for "The Social Network," Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for "True Grit"

Both major commercial blockbusters and smaller, low-budget independent films were included in the mix of different genres among the Best Picture nominees, in this second year in which the category was expanded to ten nominees. Almost every important film of the year was included in the list. Many of the ten Best Picture nominees were character or actor-driven personal dramas, or stories based on real people. Unlike last year, all of the films were critically acclaimed. Two films were tied with four Oscar wins apiece.

The Best Picture winner was:

Other Best Picture nominees (in order of wins/nominations) included:

The top seven studios with wins and noms for the year included:

  1. Weinstein (13 nominations and 4 wins from 2 films)
  2. Warners (12 nominations and 4 wins from 4 films)
  3. Buena Vista (10 nominations and 4 wins from 4 films)
  4. Sony/Columbia (9 nominations and 3 wins from 2 films)
  5. Paramount (18 nominations and 2 wins from 3 films)
  6. Sony Classics (7 nominations and 2 wins from 7 films)
  7. Fox Searchlight (11 nominations and 1 win from 2 films)

Two of the Best Picture nominees were produced by Scott Rudin (The Social Network and True Grit) - marking only the second time since 1951 (it also occurred in 1974) that an individual producer received two Best Picture nominations in the same year.

All of the five nominees for Best Director were males, unlike the previous year when Kathryn Bigelow won for the category. Two of the Best Picture-nominated films, directed by women (Cholodenko and Granik), were missing from the shorter list of Best Director nominees. All of the Best Director nominees were included in the larger list of Best Picture nominees, although it was surprising that Christopher Nolan was not nominated for Inception that won as many Oscars as the Best Picture. (Note: It seemed to be a repeat of two years earlier when he wasn't nominated in the category for The Dark Knight (2008)). The Best Director nominees included two first-time nominees who were often snubbed in the past, Aronofsky and Russell.

The Best Director winner was 38 year-old Tom Hooper (with his first nomination and first win) for his second major theatrical feature-film, Best Picture-winning The King's Speech. The other four nominees were:

All of the major performance awards seemed to pit two favorites - a younger person with an older one (Firth vs. Franco, Bening vs. Portman, Rush vs. Bale, Leo vs. Steinfeld), with the awards split between them. Eight of the 20 performance nominees were first-timers, there were no African-American nominees, and there was only one non English-language performance, by Javier Bardem. All four winners in the acting categories were first-time winners.

The five Best Actor nominees found a rematch of the previous year's competitive Best Actor race. Last year, Jeff Bridges won over Colin Firth (nominated for A Single Man (2009)) with his role in Crazy Heart (2009), but now Colin Firth had the edge and won as expected. Two of the Best Actor nominees were first timers. The Best Actor winner was the heavily-favored 50 year-old British actor Colin Firth (with his second nomination and first win), as stuttering, quick-tempered monarch George VI, Queen Elizabeth II's father, who was thrust to the throne when his brother abdicated in 1936, in The King's Speech.

The other Best Actor nominees were:

The five Best Actress nominees included four past nominees and one outstanding newcomer. The Best Actress winner was also the favored front-runner, 29 year-old Natalie Portman (with her second nomination and first win), as hallucinatory ballerina Nina Sayers in a production of Swan Lake by a NYC ballet company, when she slowly lost her mind as she began to explore the dark side of her psyche as the Black Swan, in Black Swan.

The other four Best Actress nominees were:

The Best Supporting Actor nominees included a past Oscar winner, a past nominee, and some exciting new actors never before recognized. The winner was 37 year-old Christian Bale (with his first nomination and win), as former Irish-American welterweight boxer Dick "Dicky" Eklund, whose own boxing career was tarnished by crime and drugs, but helped his sparring partner, his younger half-brother "Irish" Micky Ward (unnominated Mark Wahlberg) to a title shot, in The Fighter.

The other Best Supporting Actor nominees were:

The Best Supporting Actress nominees included two castmates, both previous nominees, from the same film, one of whom won her first Oscar. The winner was 50 year-old Melissa Leo (with her second nomination and first Oscar win), as big-coiffed, doting, manipulative, and domineering tough-love mother Alice Ward who also functioned as Ward's boxing manager, in The Fighter. [Note: The Fighter was the first film since Hannah and Her Sisters (1986) to win both Supporting Actor and Supporting Actress Oscars.]

The other four nominees were:

Oscar Snubs and Omissions:

Previous Page Next Page